Mixtape #1

Hey, kids, I’m in a weird mood today. I’m kinda thinking since I just wrote a blog stating my hatred displeasure for Jason Mraz that I should put a few acoustic songs that are actually acceptable and good. Songs that show both musicianship, but lack consistent douchebaggery. So here are my top ten acoustic songs that may or may not have started out acoustic but are amazing in this their acoustic incarnation.

#10The Gaslight Anthem ’59 Sound

#9Jackson BrowneSomebody’s Baby

#8The Beach BoysI Should’ve Known Better/Tell Me Why (Beatles Covers)

#7Black Rebel Motorcycle ClubThe Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll (Bob Dylan Cover)

#6Bob DylanVisions of Johanna

#5 Pete YornDancing in the Dark (Bruce Springsteen Cover)

#4Stone Temple PilotsPlush

#3John LennonImagine

#2Jeff TweedySunken Treasure

#1Ryan AdamsFirecracker

Now, you may be wondering the rationale for some of my choices. It’s simple…these are songs that strike a chord with me in the forms presented. For instance, I am not a huge fan of Imagine in it’s well known form, but acoustic with John Lennon in front of a crowd is unreal to me. So there it is, I think it’s a good mix, but I’d love to read some of your comments on the subject.

Leave a Reply

