Dark Night of the Soul

I think I’m a little late to the table on this one, since I just heard about the Danger Mouse/Sparklehorse album “Dark Night of the Soul” & it’s consequent shelving by EMI. Danger Mouse did not, obviously, endear himself to EMI when he made the Grey Album, but the ignorance of record companies to see the forest through the trees is becoming maddeningly ridiculous. So Danger Mouse/Sparklehorse have decided to release the 100 page booklet filled with pictures taken by David Lynch (who also shows up on one of the tracks) & a blank CD-R so that you may seek out the music & burn it for yourself. Now where, you may ask, might you find such a place where the music will be available? More on that a bit later.

Filled with artists such as: Iggy Pop, Julian Casablancas, James Mercer, Suzanne Vega, Black Francis, Gruff Rhys, Wayne Coyne, Vic Chesnutt, Jason Lytle & Nina Persson. Dark Night of the Soul is destined to be a classic album if only classically underground. With the advent of the internet keeping an amazing album like this under wraps for long must be extremely difficult, but when BOTH artists want this album to be heard it’s downright impossible.

This is Danger Mouse/Sparklehorse’s opus. Their Sgt. Pepper, if you will. It is melodically beautiful & lyrically spectacular. The perfect mix of the two brilliant artists & their accompanying vocalists. Perhaps, it is just another amazing marketing scheme to garner a little more public interest before the album is eventually released, but for the time being take that CD-R and burn the album right here on the De Mello Theory.

Revenge – Featurning Wayne Coyne from The Flaming Lips

Just War – Featuring Gruff Rhys from Super Furry Animals

Jaykub – Featuring Jason Lytle from Grandaddy

Little Girl – Featuring Julian Casablancas from the Strokes

Angel’s Harp – Featuring Black Francis from the Pixies

Pain – Featuring Iggy Pop from The Stooges

Star Eyes – Featuring David Lynch

Every Time I’m With You – Featuring Jason Lytle

Insane Lullaby – Featuring James Mercer from the Shins

Daddy’s Gone – Featuring Nina Persson from the Cardigans

The Man Who Played God – Featuring Suzanne Vega

Grim Augury – Featuring Vic Chesnutt

Dark Night of the Soul – Featuring Vic Chesnutt & David Lynch

8 thoughts on “Dark Night of the Soul

    1. Matty D Post author

      I know, sorry about that. I had them on file den which is way easier, but it sucked up all my bandwidth in like 3 days so I had to move them. If you know of a better site I’d be glad to move them there.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Danger Mouse, Sparkle Horse, David Lynch (Download Dark Night of the Soul) « Heroes of Indie Music

  2. Jason

    Thank you so much for posting these tracks! I was so looking forward to buying this project and when the legal issues came up I was afraid I wouldn’t get a chance to ever hear it.

    Reply
    1. Matty D Post author

      It is my absolute pleasure to give to people what the ridiculous record companies so selfishly denied them. In my opinion the music is for the people which is why Danger Mouse put out the blank CD. I’m glad you found my site & I hope you continue to come and enjoy my writing & the music that I choose to show people to broaden horizons.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

