Bootleg Thursday…On A Friday

So having just restarted the blog up the other day I vowed to try & write as much as possible during the week & keep my famous (infamous) Bootleg Thursdays intact. Well that was before I knew yesterday was going to be such a clusterfuck. Today, however, has an easier feel to it already. The sun is shining, there’s a light breeze & Dr. Dog is filling my mind with good thoughts. So in wanting to spread the love around a bit (I hope you’ll permit my use such hippie colloquialisms) I decided to share with you one of my favorite Dr. Dog concerts from 2008 at the High-Dive in Denver, Colorado.

If you’re not sure who Dr. Dog is then go to their website & learn about them. They’re just about to start a Summer/Fall tour that is destined to be epic. I first heard of this band when they toured with My Morning Jacket a few years back & I really haven’t been able to get them out of my head ever since. I hope the same happens to you. And don’t forget to sign up for updates on Facebook by “Liking” The De Mello Theory.

Dr. Dog – Hi-Dive, Denver, CO – 9/27/08

The Old Days
Hang On
The Way the Lazy Do
Army of Ancients
Ain’t It Strange
The Girl
The Breeze
Fool’s Life
From
The Ark
My Friend
100 Years
My Old Ways
The Beach
The Rabbit, The Bat, and The Reindeer
Worst Trip

(Encore)
Easy Beat
Die, Die, Die
Oh No
Fuck It

3 thoughts on “Bootleg Thursday…On A Friday

  1. Frank

    Yeah Matty…it’s great to see Dr. Dog isn’t just an East Coast secret anymore. I’ve seen these guys many times, including back in their West Chester University days playing house parties. The best part about them is that their unique sound (in the past I’ve described it as if The Band, Captain Beefheart, Little Feat, the Beach Boys, the Beatles and Jim James got together in some little country house and jammed for the weekend)
    has been intact since their days playing frat houses. ANd even though they don’t live here anymore, they’re known for being very loyal to their hometown roots…they showed up at Johnny Brenda’s, a great little live music dive in Philly, disguised as a “new psychedelic roots band” called Meth Beach back in the winter and gave delighted and surprised fans a sneak peek at the new album…kudos for posting this great show from a great band with even better things to come…and for giving me something perfect to listen to on a beautiful sunny day in Philadelphia.

    Reply
    1. Matty D Post author

      Meth Beach is the best name for a band ever. I’m gonna name my first born, Meth Beach.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

