Burn Down The Disco Kill The Blessed DJ

I don’t have much in the tank today as far as music goes. I have to really concentrate on writing the book today so I figured I’d give my loyal fans (all 3 of you) something to tide you over for the weekend. I haven’t always been a huge fan of the Smiths. When I was in High School many moons ago, I was a bit ambivalent towards, what I considered, a whiny sad bastard style of music. The older I got, though, the more I embraced what I realized wasn’t sad bastard music at all, but more alternative love songs.

We all have this notion that love songs have to be sappy & kitschy. What Morrissey, with the help of Johnny Marr do is create a musical universe where they can express all their frustrations, thoughts & feelings in an honest sometimes even violent way. Their new wave style changed alternative music & was part of the Second British Invasion Wave that came through in the ’80’s along with the Cure, Depeche Mode & Culture Club (I left out Wham! on purpose). So here’s a great concert of theirs from 1986 in L.A. where I wish I was right now.

Don’t forget to add us on Facebook for regular updates & discussions about music.

Thank Your Lucky Stars

Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want

Still Ill

I Want The One I Can’t Have

There Is A Light That Never Goes Out

How Soon Is Now

Frankly Mr. Shankly

Panic

Stretch Out & Wait

The Boy With The Thorn In His Side

Is It Really So Strange

Cemetery Gates

Never Had No One Ever

What She Said

That Joke Isn’t Funny Anymore

Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now

The Queen Is Dead

Money Changes Everything

I Know It’s Over

5 thoughts on “Burn Down The Disco Kill The Blessed DJ

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Burn Down The Disco Kill The Blessed DJ « The De Mello Theory -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Welche party musik kennt ihr? | Promi-Leben

Leave a Reply

